ONLINE • Overcoming Burnout through Mindful Compassion

Acharya Judith Simmer-Brown

January 23, 2021

9:30 am - 4:00 pm Mountain Time

Prices
  • $65.00 – Subsidized Tuition
  • $100.00 – Standard Tuition
  • $150.00 – Supporting Tuition
In today’s world, when so many factors elicit our empathy and desire to help, we very quickly become drained, overwhelmed, and burned out. We just cannot expose ourselves to so much suffering! Both Buddhism and compassion science have shown that there is a way to strengthen our compassion resilience directly through meditation practices. This Saturday program is designed to soothe our reactiveness and build resilience through core dharma teachings, insights from neuroscience, and these strategic practices.

Schedule

Saturday, January 23, 2021

Pacific Time: 8:30 am – 3:00 pm

Mountain Time: 9:30 am – 4:00 pm

Central Time: 10:30 am – 5:00 pm

Eastern Time: 11:30 am – 6:00 pm

Breaks will be included. Of course, you may join from any timezone.

Tiered Pricing & Scholarships

This program offers tiered pricing to accommodate most instances of financial need. If you would be unable to attend at the subsidized tuition rate, we do have scholarships available. Please apply here.  Applications will be accepted through Friday, January 16, 2021.

If you are able to register at the “Supporter” level, thank you for supporting the ability for others to attend this retreat.

Registration

Please click the “register now” button above to register. Registration will close two hours before the beginning of the program.

Recording

This program will be recorded for the presenter’s learning and archival purposes only. Participants will not receive the recording, nor will the recording be made public at any point.

Teacher

Acharya Judith Simmer-Brown

Acharya Judith Simmer-Brown, Ph.D., is Distinguished Professor of Contemplative and Religious Studies at Naropa University in Boulder, Colorado, where she has taught since 1978. As Buddhist practitioner since the early 1970’s, she became a student of Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche in 1974, and was empowered as an acharya (senior teacher) by Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche in 2000. Her teaching specialties are meditation practice, Shambhala teachings, Buddhist philosophy, tantric Buddhism, and contemplative higher education. Her book, Dakini’s Warm Breath (Shambhala 2001), explores the feminine principle as it reveals itself in meditation practice and everyday life for women and men. She has also edited Meditation and the Classroom: Contemplative Pedagogy for Religious Studies (SUNY 2011). She and her husband, Richard, have two adult children and three grandchildren.

Program Details

This virtual retreat will be conducted on Zoom. After registration, you will receive an email with simple instructions for downloading and using Zoom on your computer, laptop, or other device. At least 24 hours before the start time, you will receive another email with a link to join the retreat.